Award Recipients/Essay Winners

Award Recipients

Pictured: Dr. William W. Taylor, Past-Chair FW, Laura Riley,
Alyson McHugh, Dr. Kunwar Rajendra, and Nathan Pfost


        2000 - Lisa Herder

        2001 - Laura R. Riley

        2002 - Laura R. Riley

        2003 - Nathan Pfost

        2004 - Alyson McHugh

        2005 - Valerie Alzner

        2006 - Michelle Rosen

        2007 - Andrew Myers

        2008 - Lauren Scopel


Essay Award Winners

Since the creation of FW101L (Introduction to Fisheries and Wildlife Lab) in 2008, students in this class have had their initial outdoor laboratory experience in the Rachana Rajendra Neotropical Migrant Bird Sanctuary.

This is an eye-opening experience for many of them who are unfamiliar with the Sanctuary and the flora and fauna it sustains. At the end of their class experience, the students are asked to write a reflective essay, and many of them have written about the value of their experience visiting the Sanctuary.

They often express how they love that we have such a place at MSU, and how this helps them get closer to nature. The Rajendra Essay Award was established in 2012 to recognize students who choose to focus their reflective essay on the topic of “sanctuary,” specifically connecting this concept to their time in the Rachana Rajendra Neotropical Migrant Bird Sanctuary, and to the life of Rachana Rajendra.

2012 Essay Winner: Antonio Martinez

2013 Essay Winners: Nick Everett and Sam Brill

2014 Essay Winners: Danielle Blumstein and Frances Thompson